Wednesday, 5 September 2012

Review: Losing Lila by Sarah Alderson

Losing Lila (Lila #2) by Sarah Alderson
Published by Simon Pulse 2012

Alex and Lila are on the run, desperately trying to stay one step ahead of the Unit, which is somehow tracking their every move. While Alex is determined to keep Lila safe and her ability secret at any cost, Lila's only thought is of finding a way back to California so she can rescue her brother and mother from the military base where they're being held. Struggling to control both her growing power and her deepening feelings for Alex, Lila decides the time has finally come to stop running and start fighting. Together with Alex, Demos, and the others she's come to think of as family, Lila plans not only to save her brother and mum, but also to completely destroy the Unit and everything it stands for. But the plan requires Lila to return to California alone, and to make friends with the enemy - and in doing so, she risks losing everything: Alex, her family… even her life. (From Goodreads)

Having absolutely loved Hunting Lila and giving it the full five stars last year, this was one of my anticipated sequels. Losing Lila did certainly not disappoint, and this has been a fantastic series.

We are reunited with Lila and Alex right away, now on the run from the Unit. Alderson wastes absolutely no time delving straight into the action, and that's something I've always liked when it comes to this series. There's no time to beat around the bush, and it's clear that this is going to be one bumpy ride; even more so than the first book!

There are plenty of plot twists and turns, which had me turning frantically turning the pages at times; none of which, as usual, I expected. Alderson somehow always managed to keep me on the edge of my seat. The romance was also even more of a pleasure to read about this time around, with some cheeky gallivanting mixed in with the action, as well as hints of humour. I particularly enjoyed Suki and Nate: what a charming and hilarious pair.

Now, on to the characters. I felt as if everyone had a significant character development as opposed to how things went in the last book. With Lila's strong resolve to get her mother and brother back from the Unit's clutches, she grows increasingly confident in herself and her power. Demos and the others had a much stronger role to play, what with joining Alex and Lila to bring down the Unit and getting their own revenge. They were their own unit of sorts, and it was interesting to see how the game plan went.

Overall this was fantastic and I feel completely satisfied with how this story went. It didn't seem possible but Sarah Alderson has delivered a more-than-worthy sequel to one of my favourite books of 2011, packed with action and romance. There was never a dull moment!

4.5 stars

Wednesday, 29 August 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (21)

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine, where we spotlight our most anticipated upcoming releases.

Title: 17 & Gone (Link to Goodreads)
Author: Nova Ren Suma
Released: 21st March 2013 (US)

Seventeen-year-old Lauren is having visions of girls who have gone missing. And all these girls have just one thing in common—they are 17 and gone without a trace. As Lauren struggles to shake these waking nightmares, impossible questions demand urgent answers: Why are the girls speaking to Lauren? How can she help them? And . . . is she next? As Lauren searches for clues, everything begins to unravel, and when a brush with death lands her in the hospital, a shocking truth emerges, changing everything. 
(From Goodreads)
I'm looking forward to this because I haven't read many mysteries, and I think that combined with the supernatural element makes for a potentially interesting read. I've yet to read Imaginary Girls as well, but I've heard that it's very good!

Leave me a link to your WoW post in the comments :)

Tuesday, 28 August 2012

Review: Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher
Published by Razorbill 2007

Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a strange package with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker - his classmate and crush - who committed suicide two weeks earlier. Hannah's voice tells him that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he'll find out why. Clay spends the night crisscrossing his town with Hannah as his guide. He becomes a firsthand witness to Hannah's pain, and learns the truth about himself-a truth he never wanted to face.

Thirteen Reasons Why is the gripping, addictive international bestseller that has changed lives the world over. It's an unrelenting modern classic.
(From Goodreads)


My first review since May, think I might be a bit rusty at this, so please forgive me if I make a few blunders! 

I'd heard of this book before, but it had always managed to take a backseat in my mind. That is, until I hit a bump in the road to "reading recovery" (as I like to call it), and I asked my Tumblr followers for help. This book was recommended by one of my followers, and it finally gained my attention. I was weary when I first picked it up because I'd never read this kind of book before, but I took the plunge.

A box of tapes arriving on the front doorstep sounds intriguing in the least, and I was instantly curious because let's face it, who listens to tapes anymore? Nonetheless, a box of tapes is what Clay Jensen, the story's protagonist, finds on his doorstep. Clay was a very likeable character, and his reactions throughout listening to the tapes were plausible. I felt as if I was right there with him, on the edge of my seat, listening to Hannah's words.

Hannah was the biggest surprise, in my mind. She wasn't at all like I'd thought she'd be. To be honest, I didn't really know what to expect, but I certainly didn't expect what I got. Maybe a little more sadness? Hannah's character mainly came across as bitter, and perhaps even resentful. I understood that Hannah had sent out those tapes to explain why she committed suicide, but I thought she was not only using the tapes for that, but also as a way to lash out at the people mentioned on the tapes. I also appreciated the dual narrative between Hannah and Clay; thoughts and feelings coming across from both sides filled the book with raw emotion.

Ultimately though, this book puts the little things into perspective. The things you might've seen as jokes and you simply brushed them aside: they can have a profound effect on someone. You don't know what goes on inside a person's head, and how these little things can build up gradually. I guess the most terrifying thing that I learnt from this book is that the changes these things can make to someone are very subtle, and they're easy to overlook. A powerful read that's sure to strike a chord in everyone and a must-read for every teenager.

3.5 stars

Thursday, 23 August 2012

A Quick Note

Hi everyone, it's been a long hiatus, hm? I've also had quite the hectic summer in which I've only managed to read 2 books! Exams went well and I'm happy with my results. I'm going to start posting again once school starts or sometime shortly after; I'm also writing reviews for my school paper this year so you will hear from me! Sorry for being away so long, but I'll come back this time :)

Sunday, 27 May 2012

Letterbox Love (3) + (4)

Letterbox Love is a meme hosted by Lynsey @ Narratively Speaking, where bloggers in the UK can showcase the books they received during the week.

Hi everyone, I know I haven't posted at all in a couple of weeks, and I'm sorry for that. More exams are coming up, and I honestly don't think I can run this blog and do my schoolwork and revision at the same time, so I'm going on a break from the blog again. I don't know when I'll be back exactly, but hopefully by the start of the summer holidays. To others who are also doing exams: Good luck! Here's what I got over the past 2 weeks:


Soul Beach by Kate Harrison (Thanks to Vivenne @ Serendipity Reviews!)


Endless Summer (The Boys Next Door #1-2) by Jennifer Echols 

I also just came back from Bluewater, where I was supposed to go to the Waterstone's Cassandra Clare book signing. I got there only to find out that she'd canceled due to illness. Disappointed that I didn't get to meet her, but I hope she gets well soon!

I'll see you all soon, and I hope you've had a great weekend (especially since the weather's been incredibly nice lately in the UK)!

Friday, 18 May 2012

Feature and Follow #11

Feature and Follow is a meme hosted by Parajunkee @ Parajunkee's View and Alison @ Alison Can Read. It's a way for bloggers to gain new followers and friends.

This week's question:

Q: Summer Break is upon us! What would be the perfect vacation spot for you to catch up on your reading & relax?

I'll probably be in my bedroom for the majority of the summer, and summer in England sucks 99% of the time anyway. For the first two weeks though, I may be going up to Devon to stay with my cousin. Devon does seem to have the best weather in summer from my experience, so maybe I'll get a chance to read on the beach! However, I do prefer my bedroom, because it's so cosy :)

Weekly recap:

What's your answer to this week's question? Have a great weekend!

Wednesday, 16 May 2012

Review: Amy & Roger's Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

Amy & Roger's Epic Detour by Morgan Matson
Published Simon & Schuster UK 2011

Amy Curry thinks her life sucks. Her mom decides to move from California to Connecticut to start anew--just in time for Amy's senior year. Her dad recently died in a car accident. So Amy embarks on a road trip to escape from it all, driving cross-country from the home she's always known toward her new life. Joining Amy on the road trip is Roger, the son of Amy's mother's old friend. Amy hasn't seen him in years, and she is less than thrilled to be driving across the country with a guy she barely knows. So she's surprised to find that she is developing a crush on him. At the same time, she's coming to terms with her father's death and how to put her own life back together after the accident. Told in traditional narrative as well as scraps from the road--diner napkins, motel receipts, postcards--this is the story of one girl's journey to find herself.


I honestly don't know why I didn't read this sooner. I love YA fiction that features road trips, and I've read quite a few, but I honestly think this just might be the best one of all.

Amy Curry's life sucks. Her family has all but completely fallen apart due to her dad's death three months ago, and her mum decided to move to Connecticut to start fresh. Amy's been living by herself in their California home for the past month or so, but now the house is close to sold and it's time to get up to Connecticut. Problem is, Amy hasn't been able to drive since the accident. Enter Roger Sullivan, an old childhood friend she can only vaguely remember, but he's cute and seems nice. Amy and Roger are supposed to follow the directions her mum gave her, but they decide to take a little detour to make things more interesting...

Amy is one of the most loveable and real characters I've come across. I found that her narrative flowed incredibly nicely and I never once was bored. The turmoil that she's been experiencing since her dad's death is beautifully written, and Amy gets tons of character development throughout the book in that aspect. She really grew as a character and came to terms with it. She also had a very interesting personality, and she seemed like one of those people who can get along with anyone because they're that likeable. 

Now, on to Roger. He is like the poster boy for boys in contemporary fiction and how they should be. Not only is he cute, he's understanding, a good listener and not to mention that he has an amazing taste in music, which is evident in his playlists that appear throughout the book as Amy and Roger enter a new state on their road trip. Roger also got a little sub-plot of his own, which I found really interesting and I appreciated it. Both Amy and Roger have to come to terms with their own issues, and they help each other along the way, making each other better. That's my favourite thing about this book. 

Another of my favourite things about this book is the fact that there are pages of small notes written by Amy as they pass through each state, which contain facts and funny comments. I really enjoyed those, and they added nicely to the story, not to mention that I learned quite a bit about a few American states! As I mentioned above, Roger's playlists are also featured in their own pages, and they're fantastic. The playlists were relevant to what each new state brought to Amy and Roger, and helped to capture the mood of that particular part of the trip. I looked up some of the songs after I finished reading, and I actually quite like most of them! Things like receipts from various places, postcards and napkins were featured, and I loved the song lyrics at the start of every new chapter.

The host of characters that they met along the way were amazing. They each had their own place in the story, and I enjoyed every one of them. In fact, I can say that I loved every character featured in this book. The ending was beautiful, and felt right. It was a satisfying ending, but at the same time I didn't want it to end because I didn't want to say goodbye to all these amazing characters, especially Amy and Roger. The trip only took 4 days, but they had come so far, both in the literal sense and in relation to character development. One of my most favourite books for sure, and my desire to go on a cross-country American road trip is stronger than ever!

5 stars

Waiting on Wednesday (20)

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine, where we spotlight our most anticipated upcoming releases.

Eve and Adam by Michael Grant and Katherine Applegate
Published by Feiwel & Friends (USA)

Sixteen-year-old Evening Spiker lives an affluent life in San Francisco with her mother, EmmaRose, a successful geneticist and owner of Spiker Biotech. Sure, Evening misses her father who died mysteriously, but she’s never really questioned it. Much like how she’s never stopped to think how off it is that she’s never been sick. That is, until she’s struck by a car and is exposed to extensive injuries. Injuries that seem to be healing faster than physically possible.

While recuperating in Spiker Biotech’s lush facilities, she meets Solo Plissken, a very attractive, if off-putting boy her age who spent his life at Spiker Biotech. Like Evening, he’s never questioned anything... until now. Solo drops hints to Evening that something isn’t right, and Emma-Rose may be behind it. Evening puts this out of her mind and begins her summer internship project: To simulate the creation of the perfect boy. With the help of Solo, Evening uncovers secrets so big they could change the world completely.

I'm looking forward to this because I appreciate a good sci-fi every now and then, and this sounds very intriguing. The blurb kind of reminds me of The Adoration of Jenna Fox, which I loved, not to mention that the cover is gorgeous.

What are you waiting on?

Sunday, 13 May 2012

Letterbox Love (2)

Letterbox Love is a new meme hosted by Lynsey @ Narratively Speaking, and it's a fun way for book bloggers in the UK to show the books they received during the week.

Hi everyone, I hope you had a great weekend, and it's been a fantastic week for me in books! Here's what I got (all links lead to Goodreads):


The Immortal Rules (Blood of Eden #1) by Julie Kagawa
City of Lost Souls (The Mortal Instruments #5) by Cassandra Clare
Insurgent (Divergent #2) by Veronica Roth
Obsidian (Lux #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Goddess Interrupted (Goddess Test #2) by Aimee Carter

Waterstone's Bluewater, where I usually get all my books from besides Amazon, have announced that Cassandra Clare is going to be signing copies of City of Lost Souls in store on Sunday, 27th May from 1pm, so if you're in the area make sure to stop by! Also, Lauren Kate will be signing copies of her new book, Rapture, in store on Saturday, 7th July from 2:30 pm.

What did you get in your letterbox this week?

Friday, 11 May 2012

Feature and Follow #10

Feature and Follow is a meme hosted by Parajunkee @ Parajunkee's View and Alison @ Alison Can Read. It's a way for bloggers to gain new followers and friends.

This week's question:

Q: This Sunday in the U.S. is Mother's Day. In celebration, what are some of your favorite books with strong mother/child relationships?

I'm finding this one difficult to answer because in most books that I read, the mother is either dead or the mother/child relationship is very strained, which is kind of bleak. However, my favourite books with a strong mother/child relationship would have to be the Gallagher Girls series by Ally Carter. Cammie really admires her mum and looks up to her, and not just because her mum is one of the best spies in the world. Cammie also admires her mum's strength, and they have a really close bond.

What's your answer to this week's question? 

Sorry that I haven't posted all week, honestly the hiatus was unexpected. Expect a review on Saturday though!

Sunday, 6 May 2012

Letterbox Love (1)

Letterbox Love is a meme hosted by Lynsey @ Narratively Speaking, and it's a fun way for us to showcase the new books we received this week here in the UK.

Hi everyone, I decided to join in with Letterbox Love because it's UK specific and I thought it was a great idea, so I'll be doing these from now on. I also just wanted to say sorry for the lack of posts and reviews this week. In short, I'm in a reading slump and swamped with homework. I've barely turned a page these past two weeks, and I guess I kinda got used to not reading. So, please bare with me as I try to get back into the flow of things again, and hopefully I'll get a review done soon.

Here's what I got this week:


Dead Rules by R.S. Russell (Thanks to Leanne @ District YA!)

What did you get this week? Hope you had a great weekend and have a good bank holiday Monday!

Friday, 4 May 2012

Feature and Follow #9

Feature and Follow is a weekly meme hosted Alison @ Alison Can Read and Parajunkee @ Parajunkee's View. It's a way for bloggers to gain new followers and friends.

This week's question:

Q: What is one thing you wish you could tell your favorite author?

My favourite author is John Green, and I would tell him that he's a fantastic writer and I love every one of the books of his that I've read. He creates such loveable and relatable characters, along with sweet, realistic romance. I would tell him that he's awesome and his books really inspired me to start reading again!

What's your answer to this week's question?

Wednesday, 2 May 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (19)

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, where we spotlight the releases that we are eagerly anticipating.

The Evolution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #2) by Michelle Hodkin
Published by Simon & Schuster 
Released: 23rd October 2012 (USA)

Two days after Mara walks into a police station in Miami at the close of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, she is committed for psychiatric treatment for what her parents believe is a mental breakdown. But what seems like a hallucination to everyone else is a chilling reality for Mara. Someone from her past has discovered her strange, disturbing secret and that someone wants her to pay. But she's about to discover that the price is more than she can bear.

Dark and thrilling, suspenseful and passionate, The Evolution of Mara Dyer will have readers breathlessly turning pages to find out what will become of Mara Dyer next.

Mara gets put in a mental institution? Hell yeah, sounds like my kinda book! The first book was unbelievably amazing, so I'm seriously impatiently waiting for this :D

What are you waiting on?

Monday, 30 April 2012

April Wrap-Up

April has come and gone! It's been a good month, and I'm looking forward to May and all of the great releases it brings :) Here's what I read this month:

The Iron Daughter (Iron Fey #2) by Julie Kagawa
Immortal City (Immortal City #1) by Scott Speer
Two-Way Street by Lauren Barnholdt
A Million Suns (Across the Universe #2) by Beth Revis
Out of Sight, Out of Time (Gallagher Girls #5) by Ally Carter
The Iron Queen (Iron Fey #3) by Julie Kagawa
Free Four (Divergent #1.1) by Veronica Roth

Favourite book read in April:

Two-Way Street by Lauren Barnholdt
Incredibly funny and sweet!

Hope you all had a good month and are looking forward to May!

Sunday, 29 April 2012

In My Mailbox (20) and (21)

In My Mailbox is a meme hosted by Kristi @ The Story Siren. Despite recent events and all the drama, I'm going to continue to support this meme.

Hi, everyone! I have two IMMs to give you today (sorry that they're so late, I was busy obsessing over Avatar: Legend of Korra on Tumblr) and I'm really pleased with my book hauls.


Half-Blood (Covenant #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout (Thanks to Valerie @ Stuck in Books!)
Signed SLIDE postcard (not pictured, thanks to Jill Hathaway!)


When You Were Mine by Rebecca Serle
172 Hours on the Moon by Johan Harstad
The DUFF by Kody Keplinger
Until I Die (Revenants #2) by Amy Plum

So like I said, I'm really pleased with what I got over the past two weeks and I can't wait to read them all. I'm especially excited about Until I Die because Die For Me was one of my favourite 2011 reads, and I may have done some jumping up and down when Half-Blood arrived...

What's in your mailbox this week?

Friday, 27 April 2012

Feature and Follow #8

Feature and Follow is a meme hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read. It's a way for bloggers to gain new followers and friends.

This week's question:

Q: Have you had a character that disappointed you? One that you fell in love with and then "broke up" with later on in either the series or a stand-alone book? Tell us about him or her. 

For me, the only character that comes to mind is James from The Goddess Test series. At the beginning, he seemed like such a nice, cute character but it was later revealed that his intentions were perhaps less than honourable, and I was a little disappointed. However, it remains to be seen whether this will turn around, so I'm keeping an open mind. 

Weekly Recap:

What's your answer to this week's question? Have a great weekend!

Thursday, 26 April 2012

Review: The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa

The Iron Queen (Iron Fey #3) by Julie Kagawa
Published by Mira Ink 2011

My name is Meghan Chase.

I thought it was over. That my time with the fey, the impossible choices I had to make, the sacrifices of those I loved, was behind me. But a storm is approaching, an army of Iron fey that will drag me back, kicking and screaming. Drag me away from the banished prince who's sworn to stand by my side. Drag me into the core of conflict so powerful, I'm not sure anyone can survive it.                                                           

This time, there will be no turning back. 

The end of The Iron Daughter saw Ash and Meghan exiled to the mortal realm, with nowhere to go but home to Meghan's family. Soon, Meghan realises that her struggles are far from over. She will have to return to Faery to face the new Iron King and stop the war between the Summer, Winter and Iron fey, and stop the Iron Kingdom from destroying the Nevernever for good. This will be the greatest battle Meghan will ever have to face.

The Iron Queen is the last book from Meghan's point of view. I enjoyed the previous two books, but this one just blew those completely out of the water and I thought it was great. 

Meghan and Ash are now in the mortal realm after being exiled, but they have to return to Faery to the stop the war once and for all. Meghan has grown so much as a character throughout the series, and in this book I really felt like she'd managed to reach her full potential. She was strong and wise, and fearless. She was willing to die for what she believed in and for the Nevernever. In previous books, I'd felt that she was a bit too reckless, but there wasn't really any evidence of that here. The banishment to the mortal realm also changed Ash. He let his guard down since he no longer belonged to the Unseelie Court. We get to see him for who he truly his beneath his icy persona, and I found myself really warming up to him. 

There are more risks than ever before, and the characters know it. Nevertheless, Meghan, Ash and Puck (because where would anyone be without him? Of course he shows up) dive into the mission with fiery determination. This book is rife with action and I loved every moment of it. Mingle that with a romance that knew no bounds - all-consuming and passionate - and we have ourselves a winner! The Iron Queen also had a whole host of new characters that I loved, and I definitely didn't expect the new Iron King to be who he was revealed to be. The way the ending played out was even less expected; it was simply tragic, and I can't wait to see where The Iron Knight goes.

5 stars

Wednesday, 25 April 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (18)

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine, where we spotlight releases that we are eagerly anticipating.

Quicksilver (Ultraviolet #2) by R.J. Anderson
Published by Orchard 
Release: 2013

Once I was a girl who was special.
Now I am extraordinary.
And they will never stop hunting me.

The compelling follow-up to the bestselling ULTRAVIOLET, this thriller will take your breath away...

*Squeals* Ultraviolet was one of my favourite reads of 2011 and I was thrilled to find out that R.J. Anderson was writing a sequel. Can't wait to read this, and if you haven't read Ultraviolet, I suggest you do so!

What are you waiting on?

Monday, 23 April 2012

I'm Back!

Hi everyone, I'm back again after a rather stressful week of exams. Some I thought went really well, others not so much, but I can only hope that I did well enough. I literally just posted my review of Out of Sight, Out of Time, so be sure to give that a look! It's good that things are going back to normal (for now) and that the stress has been lifted from my shoulders. Results might be coming out in a week or two, but I can already tell you my French mark: I got an A* and I couldn't be more proud of myself. However, I do also have a French listening test and an English speaking and listening assessment (that counts for 20% of my final grade) tomorrow still, so fingers crossed :)

It's good to be back!

Review: Out of Sight, Out of Time by Ally Carter

Out of Sight, Out of Time (Gallagher Girls #5) by Ally Carter
Published by Orchard 2012

With more than a million Gallagher Girls books sold, a legion of fans have fallen in love with the New York Times best-selling spy-girl series, and the fifth book delivers the most nerve-wracking, high-stakes adventure yet.
The last thing Cammie Morgan remembers is leaving the Gallagher Academy to protect her friends and family. But when Cammie wakes up in an alpine convent and discovers months have passed, her memory is a black hole. The only traces left of Cammie’s summer vacation are the bruises on her body and dirt under her nails. All she wants is to go home. But even the Gallagher Academy now holds more questions than answers as Cammie and her friends face their most difficult challenge yet. With only their training and a few clues to guide them, the girls go in search of answers on the other side of the world. But the Circle is hot on their trail and will stop at nothing to prevent Cammie from remembering what she did last summer.

*May contain spoilers from previous books*

I've been looking forward to reading this for a while now, and I read it as soon as I possibly could after purchasing it. This book was everything I'd hoped it would be and more, and I loved it.

At the end of Only the Good Spy Young, Cammie ran away to find out the truth of why The Circle wants her. Now, summer is long over and Cammie wakes up battered and bruised in a retreat on top of a mountain. She has no memories of what happened during those summer months. From there, Cammie embarks on the greatest adventure of all: trying to remember what she did last summer. This brings many more questions into the mix; with the help of her friends, Cammie retraces her steps on the other side of the world, and devastating secrets are revealed.

This book had a much darker feel to it, especially as Cammie wakes up in such a mysterious place under mysterious circumstances. Once she calls home and returns to school, she finds that everything has changed. Within the first hundred or so pages of reading this book, I seriously wanted to cry for Cammie because so much had changed while she'd been gone and she was pretty much an outsider; everyone was tiptoeing around her. But Cammie is strong, and the one thing that keeps her going throughout the book is her need to find out just exactly what she did last summer. 

The clues that "Summer Cammie" left behind fitted and flowed perfectly, and it was interesting to keep up with. The journey that the whole gang ventured on revealed some shocking secrets, and I honestly didn't see them coming. The way the whole thing was laid out was very clever. Cammie had to take a journey concerning her mind as well as a journey for the clues she left, and this also had a rather dark feel. The romance also returns. I found it rather soft and subtle; this isn't a bad thing because it didn't overshadow the story considering how important what Cammie is going through in this book is, and the subtlety added to the sweet and tender nature of Zach and Cammie's relationship. I also like how their relationship isn't outright defined, and Cammie herself is still unsure what to make of it. I feel as if it still has a "will they/won't they" nature, and I look forward to seeing it progress further. The ending was a massive shocker, and I really, really can't wait to see how this goes. I wanted the next book right after finishing the last page, and now the wait begins again!

5 stars

Sunday, 15 April 2012

1 Week Hiatus

Hi everyone, I'm just here to tell you that it's exams week for me next week, so I'm going to have to take a break from my blogging duties until the exams are over. It's only for 1 week, and then hopefully I'll be back and things will go back to normal. I might be able to do the occasional meme but there won't be any reviews posted next week. But when I get back, there's going to be reviews for Out of Sight, Out of Time and The Iron Queen! Now, I'd thought I'd share my exam timetable with you all (these exams are GCSE mocks):

Monday 16th

Tuesday 17th
Maths (non-calculator)

Wednesday 18th

Thursday 19th
Religious Studies
Business Studies

Friday 20th
Maths (calculator)

Wish me luck!

In My Mailbox (19)

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi @ The Story Siren, where we show the books that we have obtained during the week through having bought them, borrowed them, etc.

Hi everyone, just one book this week because I've barely been out since the spring break started, since I've been revising for my exams. All links lead to Goodreads.


Partials (Partials #1) by Dan Wells

What's in your mailboxes this week?

Friday, 13 April 2012

Feature and Follow #7

Feature and Follow is a weekly meme hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read. It's a way for bloggers to gain new followers and friends.

This week's question:

Q: What is one book that you would be nervous to see a movie adaption of because you think the movie could never live up to the book?

I pretty much always fear that the film won't live up to the book, and I always feel a little bit nervous. Nevertheless, I also like it when a book I like is being made into a film, and I look forward to it. I have a few books that I would nervous to see the film adaptation of, such as:
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Looking for Alaska by John Green
Divergent by Veronica Roth
The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare

They're all books that are among my favourites, and I would hate to be disappointed by the film adaptations. All of these books have sold their film rights, and I'll look forward to seeing them in the cinema in the future, despite my nervousness. 

Weekly recap:

What's your answer to this week's question? Have a great weekend!

Thursday, 12 April 2012

Review: A Million Suns by Beth Revis

A Million Suns (Across the Universe #2) by Beth Revis
Published by RazorBill 2012

Trapped on board the spaceship Godspeed, Amy trusts no-one.

The ship's ruler is dead and a rebellion threatens. Amy wants to help Elder as he tries to take charge, but she's torn between her feelings for him and the chaos that's pulling everything apart. As more harrowing discoveries are made about Godspeed, Amy is caught in a desperate race to unravel its secrets. Only one thing is certain.

They have to get off this ship.

The heart-stopping sequel to Across the Universe: a story of love, murder and madness - set in space.

*This review may contain spoilers from Across the Universe*

I read Across the Universe quite a while ago, and luckily I still remember what happened in it. It was a brilliant debut from Beth Revis and I jumped at the chance to buy A Million Suns from The Book Depository. I had very high expectations of this book because Across the Universe was so great, and I'm sure when I say that this book is even better than the first!

Three months have passed since Orion's killings and eventual capture. He's frozen in a cryo chamber now, but things are far from normal. Eldest is dead, and the ship's citizens are no longer under the influence of Phydus, the drug that made them blindly obey orders. Elder takes charge, but now that the people can make their own choices, a rebellion is on the horizon and everything is falling apart. 

This was simply brilliant. There was never really a dull moment. Elder has taken charge now that Eldest is dead, and everything is thrown out of whack. Trouble is, now that everyone is making their own individual choices, Elder's struggling to keep control and I liked seeing how the rebellion continually escalated throughout. Another main plot point in this book was that Amy discovers that Orion left clues for her to find, and he says that she is the only one who can make the choice. This causes Amy to find and follow the clues he left behind, find out his big secret and see what choice she has to make. This was really, really great because it flowed nicely, one clue leading to another. More and more big revelations were made, and I was shocked at times. I didn't expect any of it. 

If anything, the ship is more dangerous than when Orion was walking about. There's a new villain this time around, killing innocent people and further fuelling the fire that is the rebellion. The struggle Elder faces while trying to control the ship and Amy's quest for Orion's clues eventually collide, and boy is it explosive. I didn't expect the person who was the villain to be the villain at all, and it caught me off-guard. One of the final revelations in the book and the ending have me already seriously impatient and I completely want to read what happens next! I can't believe I have to wait another year to read the third and final book.

4.5 stars 

Wednesday, 11 April 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (17)

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine, where we spotlight releases that we are eagerly anticipating.

Storm (Elementals #1) by Brigid Kemmerer
Published by KTeen 
Released: 13th June 2012 (UK)

Earth, Fire, Air, Water – they have more power than you dream.

Ever since her ex-boyfriend spread those lies about her, Becca Chandler is suddenly getting all the guys—all the ones she doesn't want. Then she saves Chris Merrick from a beating in the school parking lot. Chris is different. Way different: he can control water—just like his brothers can control fire, wind, and earth. They’re powerful. Dangerous. Marked for death.

And now that she knows the truth, so is Becca.

Secrets are hard to keep when your life’s at stake. When Hunter, the mysterious new kid around school, turns up with a talent for being in the wrong place at the right time, Becca thinks she can trust him. But then Hunter goes head-to-head with Chris, and Becca wonders who’s hiding the most dangerous truth of all.

The storm is coming . . .

What are you waiting on?

Monday, 9 April 2012

Review: Two-Way Street by Lauren Barnholdt

Two-Way Street by Lauren Barnholdt
Published by Simon Pulse 2007

There are two sides to every breakup.

This is Jordan and Courtney, totally in love. Sure, they were an unlikely high school couple. But they clicked; it worked. They're even going to the same college, and driving cross-country together for orientation.
Then Jordan dumps Courtney -- for a girl he met on the Internet.
It's too late to change plans, so the road trip is on. Courtney's heartbroken, but figures she can tough it out for a few days. La la la -- this is Courtney pretending not to care.
But in a strange twist, Jordan cares. A lot.
Turns out, he's got a secret or two that he's not telling Courtney. And it has everything to do with why they broke up, why they can't get back together, and how, in spite of it all, this couple is destined for each other.

Road trip? Yes, please! This was a fantastic read and it's definitely one of my new favourites. 

Jordan and Courtney were completely in love, and they had a great relationship. They're even going to the same college, and they're driving cross-country in Jordan's car together for orientation. Then, Jordan dumps Courtney for a girl he met on the internet. The break-up has taken a toll on Courtney, but the trip is still on. However, there's more to the break-up than Courtney thinks, and Jordan is keeping things from her.

The story is told within two time zones, Before and After, and it is told from the points of view of both Jordan and Courtney. I really liked this because you get to see the break-up from both sides, and you also get to see how Jordan and Courtney met, and how their relationship progressed until it catches up with the present.

Courtney was a believable character. She reacted to the break-up as practically any girl would, albeit she has some other odd ways of making herself feel better about it. I liked her because she was a nice girl, and a bit crazy. Jordan was ultimately a player. He liked going to parties and sleeping with girls. However, he was generally very sweet during his relationship with Courtney, and how much he cares for her shows in both the Before and After chapters. Then there's BJ, Jordan's best friend. He was ridiculously crazy and Jordan looked out for him to make sure things didn't get too out of hand, and I really liked their friendship. All the characters were fantastic, and there were many funny moments. 

The plot twist was great. I didn't expect what Jordan was actually keeping secret from Courtney, and I ended up really sympathising with him. I understood why he felt that he needed to keep the secret. Naturally, the secret comes out and this is the basis towards the end of the story. In the end, the ending was really well done. Overall, this was a great heartfelt story that I really liked.

4 stars

P.S. Sorry about the spacing, I keep trying to fix it but it's going nowhere!